24/7 Support number 1- 555 - 555 - 555

Alfred Nzo region

The northeastern region of Alfred Nzo is the smallest district in the Eastern Cape province. The seat of Alfred Nzo is Mount Ayliff, other key towns are Matatiele and Mount Frere.

The region’s boundaries stretch from the Lesotho border in the north to KwaZulu-Natal in the east. The first language is Xhosa, but the use of Sesotho and Zulu is spoken in some areas.

This region has some of the most majestic mountain scenery in the southern Drakensberg. A trans-frontier park between South Africa and Lesotho is envisioned for the Maluti area of the southern Drakensberg, but will require greatly improved access roads.

Although tourism is limited, the district’s major towns offer first-class accommodation and opportunities to learn about the first tribes to settle there, plus other points of interest.

The Alfred Nzo region is peaceful with lush green forested areas and towering, majestic mountains. This is what makes the Eastern Cape such a rare and magical place….from endless stretches of golden beaches to arid plains, snow-covered mountains and lush forests! You will be treated to a spectacular tapestry of scenery all in just one province!

Rainfall in the region is high and winters can be bitterly cold. It is one of the few areas in the Eastern Cape that experiences snow in winter!